Central Florida DUI Lawyer: Florida Minor Drinking Laws
Take it from a Central Florida DUI lawyer, underage drinking in Florida is as much a part of college life as finals and spring break. According to the Florida minor drinking laws, the difference is, with underage drinking or drug use, you can end up in jail, have a permanent criminal record that will follow you for the rest of your life, and you may be without your driver’s license and without driving privileges for an extended period of time. You have to decide if it is worth it. If you make the wrong choice and are facing the consequences, Central Florida DUI lawyer Joe Knape is there to help. Joe handles dui cases in and around Sanford, Kissimmee, Winter Park, Altamonte Springs, Apopka, Daytona Beach, Titusville, and Orlando.
So, how bad can it be? It is a childhood indiscretion, almost a rite of passage, right? Actually, the results of a drug of alcohol related arrest in Orlando can be very bad. First of all, as a minor under the age of 21, you do not even need to be in physical possession of alcohol or drugs to be charged as a Minor In Possession. In Orlando, as well as the rest of Florida, a minor can be charged with possession if they show signs of being under the influence, if they have alcohol of drugs in their system, or even if they are in an area where alcohol is present.
Note: In Florida a server or bartender can serve alcohol at the age of 18. While you can be a bartender or server, you simply cannot sample your product until you reach the age of 21.
If you or your child is arrested for Minor in Possession (MIP) charges, the penalties can be steep. For a first offense you are facing a second degree misdemeanor which carries penalties of up to 60 days in jail, 6 months of probation and/or fine of up to $500. There is also a mandatory 6 month driver’s license suspension, which the Judge can increase up to one year. Penalties for Possession of Alcohol by a minor can be increased if you have had a prior charge of the same crime. For a second offense the charge is a first degree misdemeanor and the penalties include a fine of up to $1000, up to one year in jail, and loss of a driver’s license for up to one year on a first offense, and mandatory two years on a second offense. A conviction can also affect the outcome of college applications, financial aid applications, finding a job or even finding a place to live.
Florida Minor Drinking Laws: Central Florida DUI Lawyer
If you find yourself facing MIP, DUI/DWI, or any other alcohol or drug related charges, the first step should be to contact Criminal Defense Attorney Joe Knape to make sure your rights are protected.
If you have been arrested for any alcohol or drug related offense, consult Orlando DUI Lawyer Joe Knape. The initial consultation is free of charge. You have nothing to lose. Payment plans are available, and Joe Knape accepts all major credit cards.
Call Central Florida DUI Lawyer Joe Knape at 850-225-5563 to find out more about Florida minor drinking laws or fill out the contact form at https://www.850calljoe.com.