UNDERAGE DUI – WHAT TO DO IF YOUR TEENAGER HAS BEEN ARRESTED
UNDERAGE DUI - WHAT TO DO IF YOUR TEENAGER HAS BEEN ARRESTED
If your teenager consumed alcohol and got behind the wheel, whether it was drinks at a high school party or beers at a Friday night football game, your child may be facing the unfortunate charge of a DUI, or driving under the influence. And if you’re in that situation, it’s imperative that you seek an experienced attorney like Joseph Knape to counsel you.
Drunk driving attorney Joe Knape is an experienced and aggressive criminal defense attorney that is proud to serve the Orlando community. If you are looking for an expert drunk driving lawyer to defend your DUI in the Orlando area look no further, he will help you get the best results out of your child’s case. For more information about how our DUI attorney can help you and your child, call 407-508-7774 today.
Underage drinking among teenagers is heavily prevalent among young people – and it’s a serious problem that your child is likely to be exposed to. In fact, the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism reports that 60 percent of young adults will have had a drink before turning 18. And if a teenage drinker decides to drive, it only amplifies the issue and makes things more severe and complicates things.
TESTS AND PENALTIES JUVENILES FACE FOR UNDERAGE DUI
If your teenager carries a Florida driver’s license and is pulled over with suspicion of driving while under the influence, he or she is subject to implied consent laws. Once the police officer believes there to be probable cause to arrest your child for a DUI, he or she will administer a Florida Department of Law Enforcement approved breath test. This breath test is typically done at the police station or county jail, however the officer may have a portable breathalyzer. The breathalyzer results will determine if the DHSMV will administratively suspend your child’s driving privileges.
Like minor in possession charges, the penalties for an underage DUI can be tough. Underage drunk drivers could face potential harsh punishments, such as:
- Suspension of the driver’s license: A teenager who is determined to have a blood alcohol concentration of 0.2% or higher can face a suspension of up to six months.
- Hardship license: If your teenager’s license has been suspended, they can get a hardship license with the help of an attorney like Joe Knape. Drivers can apply for a hardship license after 30 days with a breath test blow resulting in over .08 and after 90 days for a refusal, and documentation of enrollment in DUI school. For first offenders, it is typically a straightforward hardship license hearing explaining that you have served a period of suspension, have not driven, and have taken the steps necessary to get your license reinstated.
If your teenager is facing DUI charges, get in touch with us today at the office of Joseph Knape and set up a free consultation.