2nd DUI: What To Expect, Penalties & Defense Strategy
Second Offense Drunk Driving (DUI) Lawyer Serving Orlando, Florida
If you have been charged with a DUI and it is your second offense, you need an experienced criminal defense attorney in your corner. A second DUI offense in Orlando brings with it steeper penalties.
Without an experienced drunk driving defense attorney, who knows the best strategies to defend your case, you may face more legal punishment then you need to for your DUI.
If You Have Been Charged with Your Second DUI Offense in Orlando, Give Our Drunk Driving Defense Lawyer a Call Now at (407) 508-7774.
Penalties for a Second Drunk Driving Offense in Orlando, Florida
If you are a multiple DUI offender with two or more convictions in ten a year period, the penalties for your actions increase dramatically.Penalties for a second DUI offense in Orlando, Florida will vary from case to case. However, below are some of the typical penalties that can be incurred for a second DUI offense.
- Jail time for second DUI offense: 9 Months Maximum (Blood Alcohol Level from .08 to less than .15) – 12 Months Maximum (Blood Alcohol Level above .15) or if you had a minor in vehicle. If you are charged with your second DUI within 5 years of your previous DUI, then you may have to spend 10 days in jail.
- Fines for a Second DUI Offense in Orlando: You may be charged from $1,000 to $2,000 a Blood Alcohol Level From .08 to less than .15. For a blood alcohol level of .15 or higher, or if there was a minor present within the vehicle, you may be charged from $2,000 to $4,000.
- Probation Period for Second DUI Offense: The probation period for you second drunk driving offense in Orlando is typically 12 months.
- Vehicle Impoundment:
If you have been charged with a DUI within the past 5 years then your car will be impounded for 30 Days. Special exceptions exist for this 30 day period, but that is the typical sentence for a second DUI offense.
- Driver’s License Suspension: You will be suspended for at least 6 months for a 2nd DUI conviction when the first DUI conviction was more than 5 years prior. The Judge can sentence you to a greater suspension and the DHSMV will more than likely suspend you for a longer period than the 6 months on a second conviction. If the second arrest occurs within 5 years of the first conviction you are looking at a minimum 5 year driver’s license suspension. It is very likely that you are already likely suspended by the DHSMV for either refusing to submit to the breathalyzer or providing a breath sample above the legal limit.
- Vehicle Ignition Interlock Device: This is breathalyzer in your car and if you are charged with a BAC above .15 you can likely expect this device to be part of your minimum sentence for 6 months. This device will not allow your car to start if you cannot produce an alcohol free breath sample. This part of the sentence doesn’t start until you are able to get your driver’s license back which makes it more challenging to be successful on probation. A second DUI conviction will carry with it a mandatory ignition interlock device.
Time to Call a DUI Criminal Defense Attorney in Orlando
These are just some of the penalties that can be incurred by being charged with a second DUI offense in Orlando. In order to get the best results for your DUI case, give our experienced DUI attorney a call as quickly as possible.